Bringing you new stories for the ages

The Next Step 8-04

… They attacked first. It was self-defense.

Heretical Edge

Previous Chapter

“I’d say this is impossible,” I managed after a solid thirty seconds of staring through the darkness at the sand that surrounded us, “but after the past few months, I’m pretty sure that phrase has become utterly meaningless.” Sighing then, I dug my phone out of my pocket. “Hold on, I’ll call… nobody, apparently. I’ve got no bars. You?” She looked, but shook her head. “Right, guess we’re using the SOS then.”

“It’s not going to work,” Shiori’s voice was quiet, but full of dread. “We’re too far away from them.”

I shook my head at that. “What? No, the emergency signal works from everywhere on the planet.”

“Flick,” she replied weakly, “look at the moon.”

Unsure of where she was going with that, I looked up and found it. Wow, it was big. “Whoa. Wow. Okay, yeah, that’s a big moon. I guess we’re far enough away…

View original post 3,256 more words

Leave a Reply

